Free nationwide delivery. First year's refill included.

MASTERTON · OFFICIAL COUNCIL DATA

What's actually in Masterton's tap water

Masterton District Council answered inside its 20 working days with a 15-month lab export for both supplies it runs - 140 network E. coli samples, five quarterly by-product rounds, three metals rounds and 92 fluoride results. Two honest gaps first: the release holds network chlorine only as the operator's onsite reading at those quarterly and six-monthly samples, seven readings in Masterton, and it never describes either treatment train. What it does show: no E. coli in any network sample, fluoride on the urban supply at 0.87 mg/L, no lead anywhere in the network, and chlorination by-products in every quarterly round. The free check reads your address.

Official council data
Released by Masterton District Council under the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987
Answered 7 September 2026 · 140 network E. coli samples across two supplies, June 2025 to August 2026 · 92 fluoride results at Upper Plain Reservoir · quarterly by-products and six-monthly metals for Masterton

THE HEADLINE NUMBERS

Two supplies, by-products in every round.

Every network reading in the release sits inside New Zealand's legal limits. Masterton District Council treats its water properly, and its own results show it - the raw source tests show what the Kaituna plant takes out. The same results show what stays in the water at the tap: trihalomethanes in all five quarterly rounds, 81 times the EWG health guideline at their peak, and fluoride on the urban supply. Lead was never found in the network. The numbers are below; what you do about them is up to you.

0.0122mg/L
Masterton's THM peak
Highest of five quarterly rounds, January 2026. Inside New Zealand's limits, under a tenth of the way to them on the lab's own ratio. 81 times the EWG health guideline.
0.87mg/L
Fluoride, typical, Masterton urban supply
92 results at Upper Plain Reservoir, June 2025 to August 2026, every one between 0.74 and 0.97 against a 1.5 legal limit. Tinui's status is not stated in the release.
None
E. coli detected, in any network sample
125 samples at 25 Masterton streets and 15 at the Tinui school tap, June 2025 to August 2026. Lead, mercury, cadmium, chromium and antimony below detection in every network round too.

SUPPLY BY SUPPLY

What was found in your supply

E. coli and coliforms every few days in Masterton and monthly at Tinui; by-products each quarter and metals twice a year in Masterton; chlorine, pH and turbidity as the operator's onsite readings at those samples. These are the council's own results. Typical figures are medians; peaks are the highest single sample.

Supply Chlorine, typical THMs, highest sample Haloacetic acids Worth knowing
Masterton0.59 mg/L0.0122 mg/LNot detectedfluoridated, 0.87 mg/L typical; 125 E. coli samples, none detected; lead below detection in all three metals rounds; chlorine rests on seven onsite readings
Tinui0.61 mg/LNot testedNot testedfluoride not stated; 15 E. coli samples at the school tap, none detected; one annual metals screen, copper 0.019 mg/L inside the 1.3 health goal, zinc not tested

Source: Masterton District Council LGOIMA release, answered 7 September 2026. E. coli and coliform figures are the council's Eurofins network samples, 4 June 2025 to 19 August 2026 at 25 Masterton street sites and 9 June 2025 to 13 August 2026 at the Tinui school tap. Chlorine typicals are medians of the operator's onsite readings at the network sampling points - seven in Masterton (1 July 2025 to 6 July 2026, at the quarterly by-product and six-monthly metals samples; the fortnightly E. coli samples carry no field readings) and 14 at the Tinui school tap - with pH and turbidity from the same readings. The Masterton THM figure is the highest per-sample total from five quarterly rounds, 1 July 2025 to 6 July 2026, summing the quantified species; the lab's own printed THM ratio against New Zealand's limits peaked at 0.082. Haloacetic acids: all six species below detection in every round, five at 0.005 mg/L and trichloroacetic acid at a coarser 0.05, so the figure can only understate. Metals: three six-monthly rounds at Ngaumutawa Road in Masterton - lead, mercury, cadmium, chromium and antimony below detection every time; copper, zinc and one nickel result quantified - and one annual round at Tinui School with no zinc column and no by-products at all. Fluoride figures are Upper Plain Reservoir, a service reservoir on the urban supply, not a reticulation tap. Raw-source and plant results are carried as notes only: the Kaituna plant tap returned one lead result of 0.0039 mg/L on 16 June 2025 in 22 rounds, inside the 0.01 legal limit and about 19 times the EWG guideline, never repeated and never seen in the network. Three data-entry slips are excluded by name - a pH keyed as 741, a temperature as 138 and a turbidity as 15 - and a fluoride first entered as 0.30 then corrected by the council to 0.82 is taken at the corrected value. The release names the source and plant for each supply but describes neither treatment train, and carries no supply-zone codes. No PFAS or microplastics tests anywhere in the release.

WHAT THIS MEANS FOR YOUR HOUSE

Three things to know.

By-products above the guideline, every quarter

Chlorine meeting natural organic matter forms trihalomethanes, and Masterton's supply returned them in all five quarterly rounds: 0.0048 mg/L in July 2025, 0.0122 at the January 2026 peak, 0.0068 in July 2026. The peak is 81 times the EWG health guideline and, on the lab's own ratio, under a tenth of the way to New Zealand's limits. The six haloacetic acids never reached detection. Tinui was not tested for either, so this page cannot say.

Why treatment matters: the Masterton source

The council also tests its raw water, and the Masterton source returned E. coli in 24 of 31 fortnightly samples, 1 to 10 per 100 mL, with total coliforms past the lab's 80 counting ceiling most weeks. The Tinui source ran the same way, E. coli in 7 of 15 monthly samples and up to 9, and one visit found the water visibly discoloured at 53.2 NTU. That is untreated source water, exactly what raw water looks like before the plant, and it is not your tap water: 140 network samples, none with E. coli. Closing the gap is the plant's job; what it leaves behind is the point of this page.

Fluoride on the urban supply, and no lead in the network

Upper Plain Reservoir carried 0.87 mg/L fluoride typically across 92 results, peaking at 0.97 against a 1.5 legal limit - dosed water, and the council also samples a tap it labels the Manuka Street unfluoridated supply. Tinui's status is not in the release. Lead was below detection in all three Masterton rounds and Tinui's one; the only lead quantified anywhere was a single 0.0039 mg/L at the Kaituna plant tap in June 2025, never repeated. Not one PFAS or microplastics test was run.

YOUR ADDRESS

This is the district picture. Get the report for your home.

The free water check takes about two minutes, and it includes the PDF water report for your address - written from the same release, read for your house.

THE SYSTEM THAT FITS

What we'd fit in Masterton.

Fluoride, THMs and the PFAS and microplastics nobody tests for only come out at the kitchen tap with reverse osmosis, and that's the ES60's job. If it's the chlorine in your showers that bothers you, that's a whole-house filter - we supply those by arrangement, so call us on 021 709 370.

MASTERTON WATER QUESTIONS

Straight answers.

The urban supply, yes. The council's lab measured fluoride at Upper Plain Reservoir roughly twice a week, 92 results from June 2025 to August 2026, every one between 0.74 and 0.97 mg/L and 0.87 typically, against a 1.5 legal limit. That is dosed water at the national target band, and the council also samples a public tap it labels the Manuka Street unfluoridated supply. Tinui is not stated: the release carries no fluoride result for it and no treatment description, so this page does not guess. No whole-house filter removes fluoride; reverse osmosis removes around 90% of it.
By New Zealand's rules, yes, and the council's own results show it: 125 network E. coli samples at 25 Masterton streets and 15 at the Tinui school tap, none with E. coli, every reading inside New Zealand's legal limits, and lead never detected in the network. Total coliforms turned up twice in Masterton, at Timms Place in October 2025 and Chapel Street in March 2026, with E. coli absent both times. Safe and pure are different questions: trihalomethanes were in every quarterly round, 81 times the EWG health guideline at their peak, fluoride is added on the urban supply, and PFAS and microplastics are not tested at all.
0.59 mg/L typical in the Masterton network, peaking at 0.81, and 0.61 at the Tinui school tap, peaking at 0.76. One honest caveat: the release holds network chlorine only as the operator's onsite reading at each quarterly by-product and six-monthly metals sample, seven readings between July 2025 and July 2026, because the fortnightly E. coli samples carry no field readings. The Kaituna plant itself was read every three weeks at 0.65 to 0.88 mg/L. The legal limit is 5 mg/L. Chlorine's job ends at your tap - a whole-house carbon filter takes it out where the water enters your house.
Plenty, which is the point of the plant. The council's fortnightly raw-water tests at the Masterton source found E. coli in 24 of 31 samples, from 1 to 10 per 100 mL, with total coliforms past the lab's 80 counting ceiling most of the time; the Tinui source returned E. coli in 7 of 15 monthly samples, up to 9, and one field turbidity of 53.2 NTU when the water was visibly discoloured. That is untreated source water going into the Kaituna plant and the Tinui plant, and it is not what comes out of your tap: every network and school-tap sample was clear. Closing that gap is the plant's job; what it leaves behind is the point of this page.
The council runs two. The Masterton urban supply from the Kaituna plant serves the town, Lansdowne, Solway, Kuripuni and out to Fernridge, and is where the fluoride, by-products and metals were tested. Tinui has its own small plant and is sampled at the school tap. The release carries no supply-zone codes, so this page uses the council's own site names. The free water check reads your address and sends the report for your supply.