Free nationwide delivery. First year's refill included.

OAMARU AND WAITAKI · OFFICIAL COUNCIL DATA

What's actually in Oamaru's tap water

Waitaki District Council answered all three parts of the request with a year of its Eurofins export and its operators' field grabs for the 25 zones it runs, Oamaru to Omarama - 3,309 chlorine readings, 1,041 E. coli samples, two metals rounds and one by-product round at the 17 larger-zone taps. Five small zones came without metals at the tap and are not reportable; this page still says what they show. What the rest shows: fluoride on the ten Oamaru zones, no E. coli at any Oamaru tap, chlorination by-products above the EWG guideline in every larger zone, and a 13 July 2026 metals round that read as a stagnant first-draw round across 16 taps at once - lead 0.234 mg/L at Palmerston, 23 times the New Zealand limit, with the council's resample two weeks later below detection. The free check reads your address.

Official council data
Released by Waitaki District Council under the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987
Answered 14 September 2026 · 3,309 field chlorine readings across 20 reportable zones, August 2025 to August 2026 · two metals rounds and one by-product round at the 17 larger-zone taps · five more zones released without enough data to report

THE HEADLINE NUMBERS

Twenty zones, and one July metals round that needs explaining.

Nearly every reading in the release sits inside New Zealand's legal limits, and Waitaki District Council's own results show a chlorinated, fluoridated Oamaru supply with no E. coli at any of its ten taps. The exception is the 13 July 2026 metals round: copper, zinc, lead and nickel were up at 16 of the 17 larger-zone taps at once, which reads as stagnant first-draw sampling, and lead went past the 0.01 mg/L limit at Palmerston (0.234), at Flag Swamp in the Goodwood zone (0.032, then 0.043 on a resample) and at Lower Waitaki (0.025). The council resampled all three taps within two weeks: below detection, below detection and 0.005. Both facts travel together on every report. The numbers are below; what you do about them is up to you.

0.234mg/L
Lead, Palmerston tap, 13 July 2026
23 times the 0.01 mg/L limit, in a round the release reads as stagnant first-draw at 16 of 17 taps; the council's resample on 27 July read below the 0.001 detection limit. Both stand on the report.
0.74mg/L
Fluoride, typical, Oamaru supply
Ten lab results at the Oamaru plant's analyser tap, paired monthly with South Hill reticulation results of 0.56 to 0.79, against a 1.5 legal limit. Every other zone: not stated in the release.
None
E. coli detected, at any Oamaru tap
612 samples across the ten Oamaru zones, August 2025 to August 2026. One detection district-wide at a larger tap: Tokarahi, 1 cfu/100 mL, in 57 samples.

ZONE BY ZONE

What was found in your zone

Chlorine, pH and turbidity two to three times a week and E. coli weekly at the 17 larger-zone taps, weekly to quarterly at the rest; metals twice a year at the larger taps and once at five smaller ones; one by-product round at the larger taps. These are the council's own results. Typical figures are medians; peaks are the highest single sample.

ZoneChlorine, typicalTHMs, highest sampleHaloacetic acidsWorth knowing
Oamaru, Central0.78 mg/L0.0224 mg/L0.008 mg/Lfluoridated, 0.74 mg/L typical; 55 E. coli samples, none detected; lead 0.002 mg/L
Oamaru, North End0.93 mg/L0.0102 mg/L0.005 mg/Lfluoridated; 57 E. coli samples, none; lead 0.008 mg/L and zinc 0.495 in the July round, inside the limits
Oamaru, South Hill0.94 mg/L0.0115 mg/L0.005 mg/Lfluoridated, 0.72 mg/L typical at the tap; 56 E. coli samples, none; lead 0.001 mg/L
Oamaru, Old Mill Road0.92 mg/L0.0157 mg/L0.008 mg/Lfluoridated; the Reservoir Road and Stoke Street taps; 56 E. coli samples, none; lead 0.002 mg/L
Oamaru, Ardgowan0.91 mg/L0.015 mg/L0.007 mg/Lfluoridated; 56 E. coli samples, none; lead 0.004 mg/L
Oamaru, Weston-Enfield0.72 mg/L0.0276 mg/L0.011 mg/Lfluoridated; two taps, 108 E. coli samples, none; the Oamaru supply's THM peak, 184 times the EWG guideline; zinc 0.58 mg/L in the July round
Oamaru, Kakanui0.65 mg/L0.0238 mg/L0.012 mg/Lfluoridated; 56 E. coli samples, none; turbidity peaked at 14.2 NTU against a 5 NTU guideline, 0.73 typical; lead 0.006 mg/L
Oamaru, Herbert0.69 mg/L0.0181 mg/L0.009 mg/Lfluoridated; 56 E. coli samples, none; copper 0.281 mg/L in the July round, inside the 2 mg/L limit; lead 0.004
Oamaru, Hampden0.73 mg/L0.0194 mg/L0.01 mg/Lfluoridated; 56 E. coli samples, none; lead 0.007 mg/L
Oamaru, Moeraki0.66 mg/L0.0206 mg/L0.011 mg/Lfluoridated; 56 E. coli samples, none; lead below detection, the only Oamaru zone where it was
Waihemo, Palmerston0.70 mg/L0.0138 mg/LNot detectedfluoridation not stated; 56 E. coli samples, none; lead 0.234 mg/L on 13 July 2026, 23 times the limit, resampled below detection on 27 July - both on the report
Waihemo, Goodwood0.66 mg/L0.0124 mg/LNot detectedfluoridation not stated; Flag Swamp and Shag Point taps, 104 E. coli samples, none; lead 0.032 then 0.043 mg/L at Flag Swamp in July, then below detection on 28 July; zinc 2.89 at Shag Point
Waihemo, Dunback0.55 mg/L0.0154 mg/LNot detectedfluoridation not stated; 56 E. coli samples, none; lead 0.003 mg/L; turbidity peaked at 16 NTU, 0.49 typical
Lower Waitaki0.60 mg/L0.0121 mg/LNot detectedfluoridation not stated; 68 E. coli samples, none; lead 0.025 mg/L on 13 July 2026, resampled 0.005 on 21 July; copper 0.926 and zinc 3.08 the same day
Tokarahi/Livingstone0.60 mg/L0.0217 mg/LNot detectedfluoridation not stated; one E. coli detection in 57 samples, 1 cfu/100 mL; turbidity peaked at 299 NTU, 1.38 typical; chlorine peaked at 2.18
Awamoko0.83 mg/LNot testedNot testedfluoridation not stated; 13 E. coli samples, none; one metals round, six metals, nickel and zinc not tested
Kauru Hill0.59 mg/LNot testedNot testedfluoridation not stated; 13 E. coli samples, none; turbidity peaked at 52 NTU, 1.24 typical; nickel and zinc not tested
Windsor1.23 mg/LNot testedNot testedfluoridation not stated; 13 E. coli samples, none; chlorine peaked at 2.06 mg/L; nickel and zinc not tested
Omarama0.67 mg/LNot testedNot testedfluoridation not stated; 23 E. coli samples, none; pH 6.7 typical, just under the 7.0 to 8.5 guideline; zinc not tested
Otematata0.82 mg/LNot testedNot testedfluoridation not stated; 26 E. coli samples, none; pH 6.7 typical; zinc not tested

Source: Waitaki District Council LGOIMA release, OIA 1756, answered 14 September 2026. Chlorine typicals are medians of the operators' field grabs at the council's own zone tap in each zone (two taps in Weston-Enfield, Goodwood and Old Mill Road), 1 August 2025 to 17 August 2026 - 3,309 readings across the 20 reportable zones - with pH and turbidity from the same grabs; five keyed values are excluded by name, among them a 94 mg/L chlorine at the Awamoko plant, a 1941 NTU turbidity at Oamaru Central and a Dunback turbidity the council itself marked as entered incorrectly. E. coli and coliform figures are the council's Eurofins lab samples at the same taps, 1,041 across the 20 zones; a private groundwater sample at 21 London Street, Hampden, run under the council's account, is not counted anywhere. THM figures are per-tap sums of the quantified species from the one by-product round, 22 July 2026, at the 17 larger-zone taps; the lab prints no total, only a ratio against New Zealand's limits, which the species reproduce - the highest ratio was 0.119 at Dunback. Haloacetic acids: dichloroacetic acid was the only acid ever quantified, at the ten Oamaru taps, so the figure is that value and the not-detected ceiling is the 0.005 mg/L limit shared by five of the six acids. Metals: two rounds at the 17 larger-zone taps (8 to 12 January and 13 July 2026) and one at Awamoko, Kauru Hill, Windsor, Omarama and Otematata (11 May 2026, six or seven metals, no zinc); the 13 July round read as a stagnant-draw round across 16 taps and its lead results at Palmerston, Flag Swamp and Lower Waitaki stand as read, with the council's resamples of 21, 27 and 28 July beside them. The regulator's own register logged those July lead events for Palmerston, Goodwood and Lower Waitaki, and one E. coli event at Tokarahi on 30 September 2025. Fluoride figures are the Oamaru plant's analyser tap and the South Hill reticulation check, plant water feeding all ten Oamaru zones; no other zone carries a fluoride result or a treatment description, so the page says not stated rather than guessing. Five zones are in the release without metals at the tap and are not reportable: Kurow (109 chlorine readings, 0.71 mg/L typical, no E. coli in 23 samples, plant-tap metals only), Duntroon (6 readings, 0.73 typical), Stoneburn (5 readings, 0.67), Lake Ohau village (4 readings, 0.88) and Bushy Creek Rural, where free chlorine read 0.00 at every one of the five grabs, E. coli was found in three of four lab samples (2, 6 and 8 cfu/100 mL) with coliforms past 80 each time, and no plant sampling point exists anywhere in the release - the regulator's register holds five E. coli notifications for Bushy Creek between February 2025 and February 2026. Raw source results, the campground taps and the private taps in the release are carried as notes only. No PFAS or microplastics tests anywhere in the release.

WHAT THIS MEANS FOR YOUR HOUSE

Three things to know.

One metals round, read for what it is

On 13 July 2026 the council's contractor sampled all 17 larger-zone taps for metals and the results moved together: copper, zinc, lead and nickel up at 16 taps at once, which is what a stagnant first-draw sample looks like - water that has sat in a fitting overnight. Lead went past the 0.01 mg/L limit at three of them: Palmerston 0.234, Flag Swamp 0.032 and Lower Waitaki 0.025. The council resampled within two weeks: Palmerston below detection on 27 July, Flag Swamp 0.043 on 21 July then below detection on 28 July, Lower Waitaki 0.005 on 21 July. Every result stands as read, the peak and the resample together, on this page and on every report for those zones. Lead comes from fittings, not the plant, and the fix is at the tap.

Why treatment matters: the Oamaru race

The council also tests its raw water, and the irrigation race at Redcastle Road that feeds the Oamaru plant returned E. coli in 24 of 25 samples, 2 to 390 per 100 mL. The Kauru River and the Windsor source ran past the lab's 800 counting ceiling, Tokarahi's to 730 and Awamoko's every sample of twelve. That is untreated source water, and it is not your tap water: 612 Oamaru samples with no E. coli, and one detection in 1,041 across all twenty zones. The two small campground taps at Falstone and Sailors Cutting are the other side of that line - E. coli in every sample - and they are not on any reportable zone. Closing the gap is the plant's job; what it leaves behind is the point of this page.

Fluoride on the Oamaru supply, by-products in every larger zone

The Oamaru plant fluoridates: ten analyser-tap results at 0.72 to 0.78 mg/L, 0.74 typically, matched monthly by South Hill reticulation results of 0.56 to 0.79, against a 1.5 legal limit. No other zone carries a fluoride result or a treatment description, so the page says not stated. The one by-product round put trihalomethanes above the EWG health guideline at every larger tap, peaking at 0.0276 mg/L in Weston-Enfield, 184 times the guideline and about a tenth of the way to New Zealand's limits; dichloroacetic acid quantified at all ten Oamaru taps, up to 0.012 at Kakanui against a 0.05 limit. The five smaller zones were never tested for by-products, and their one metals round carried no zinc. Not one PFAS or microplastics test was run.

YOUR ADDRESS

This is the district picture. Get the report for your home.

The free water check takes about two minutes, and it includes the PDF water report for your address - written from the same release, read for your house.

THE SYSTEM THAT FITS

What we'd fit in Oamaru.

Fluoride, THMs and the PFAS and microplastics nobody tests for only come out at the kitchen tap with reverse osmosis, and that's the ES60's job. If it's the chlorine in your showers that bothers you, that's a whole-house filter - we supply those by arrangement, so call us on 021 709 370.

OAMARU AND WAITAKI WATER QUESTIONS

Straight answers.

Yes, on the Oamaru supply - Central, North End, South Hill, Old Mill Road, Ardgowan, Weston-Enfield, Kakanui, Herbert, Hampden and Moeraki. The council's lab checked the plant's fluoride analyser tap monthly, ten results from August 2025 to May 2026 at 0.72 to 0.78 mg/L, and a South Hill reticulation tap the same month at 0.56 to 0.79, against a 1.5 legal limit. The release holds no treatment description and no fluoride result for any other zone, so for Palmerston, Goodwood, Dunback, Lower Waitaki, Tokarahi, Awamoko, Kauru Hill, Windsor, Omarama and Otematata this page says not stated rather than guessing. No whole-house filter removes fluoride; reverse osmosis removes around 90% of it.
By New Zealand's rules, yes, and the council's own results show it: 612 E. coli samples at the ten Oamaru taps with no E. coli, chlorine at every tap, and every Oamaru reading inside the legal limits. Across the district the exceptions are the 13 July 2026 metals round - lead over the 0.01 mg/L limit at Palmerston, Flag Swamp and Lower Waitaki, in a round that reads as stagnant first-draw sampling, each resampled within two weeks - and one E. coli detection at Tokarahi in 57 samples. Bushy Creek Rural, a small unchlorinated scheme with E. coli in three of four samples, is in the release without metals and is not reportable. Safe and pure are different questions: trihalomethanes sit above the EWG health guideline at every larger tap, fluoride is added on the Oamaru supply, and PFAS and microplastics are not tested at all.
0.78 mg/L typical at the Central tap, peaking at 1.6, from 163 grabs between August 2025 and August 2026. North End runs 0.93 typical, South Hill 0.94, Old Mill Road 0.92, Ardgowan 0.91, Hampden 0.73, Weston-Enfield 0.72, Herbert 0.69, Moeraki 0.66 and Kakanui 0.65. Outside Oamaru, Windsor runs highest at 1.23 typical and Dunback lowest at 0.55; Bushy Creek Rural read 0.00 at every grab. The legal limit is 5 mg/L. Chlorine's job ends at your tap - a whole-house carbon filter takes it out where the water enters your house.
Plenty, which is the point of the plant. The Oamaru plant draws from an irrigation race at Redcastle Road, and the council's tests of that raw water found E. coli in 24 of 25 samples, from 2 to 390 per 100 mL, with turbidity up to 12.9 NTU. The Waihemo source at Palmerston came back cleaner, E. coli in 2 of 25, while the Kauru River, the Windsor source and Tokarahi's creek ran to and past the lab's counting ceiling. That is untreated water going into the plants, and it is not what comes out of your tap: no E. coli at any Oamaru tap all year. Closing that gap is the plant's job; what it leaves behind is the point of this page.
The council runs 25 zones and reports the Oamaru supply as ten of them: Central, North End, South Hill, Old Mill Road (Reservoir Road), Ardgowan, Weston-Enfield (with Ngapara, Enfield and Five Forks), Kakanui, Herbert (with Waianakarua), Hampden and Moeraki. Palmerston, Goodwood (Flag Swamp and Shag Point) and Dunback are the Waihemo supply. Lower Waitaki (with Hilderthorpe), Tokarahi/Livingstone, Awamoko, Kauru Hill, Windsor, Omarama and Otematata each have their own plant. Kurow, Duntroon, Stoneburn, Lake Ohau village and Bushy Creek Rural are in the release without enough data to report. Palmerston here is the Otago town, not Palmerston North, and Windsor is the Waitaki one, not Invercargill's - type the district if you are in doubt. The free water check reads your address and sends the report for your zone.